PhD Survivor

I can honestly say that I would not have completed my PhD without the guidance and support of Deirdre Rogers. I chose The Dissertation Coach after researching 3 companies. Alison Miller called me personally to assess my needs. She understood the complexity of my research questions and approach and matched me with the perfect consultant. I looked forward to every session. Deirdre kindly kept me on track while also being flexible around my work and school schedules. I believe everyone can benefit greatly from the services and feedback provided by The Dissertation Coach – even if you feel you don’t need help.

Share:Email this to someone

Former Client of The Dissertation Coach, PhD

Dr. Christopher Bradley was the hardest worker and one of the most well prepared mentors, coaches, or faculty members I have worked with in 10-years of professional work experience. He took a genuine interest in my dissertation from start to finish. The coaching sessions were meaningful, thoughtful, and organized. Dr. Bradley has a sixth sense with students from a wide variety of backgrounds. He is a scholar-leader who has a deft touch adult learners. Fantastic experience! Strongest recommendation!

Share:Email this to someone

Alexandra H., MA

I just completed my masters thesis journey working with The Dissertation Coach and Deirdre Rogers on your team. I am writing to let you know that she did a truly outstanding, above-and-beyond job helping me throughout the entire process. Deirdre always responded to my emails promptly, showed up to all our Skype calls well prepared and ready to answer my questions, consistently gave me meaningful feedback, and got all the statistical analysis and edits back to me in a timely manner. I genuinely could not be more pleased! I will absolutely recommend my friends and family to work with The Dissertation Coach (especially Deidre). As a result of Deirdre’s support and encouragement, feedback, and Skype practice sessions, I passed my written thesis and oral thesis defense with flying colors, something I never imagined would possible seven months ago. I couldn’t have done it without her help.

Share:Email this to someone

Anna, doctoral student

I worked with Dr. Kristine Jones on the methodology and problem statement sections of my doctoral proposal. Kristine was precise, to the point, and very helpful overall. She gave me advice as to how the paragraphs need to flow logically. Overall, the experience with Kristine was very positive, and I look forward to working with her when it comes to data analysis.

Share:Email this to someone

David G. Kloak PhD. Organizational Psychology, California School of Professional Psychology-Alliant International University

The Dissertation Coach provided me with the right consultant, Dr. Kathy Stansbury, when I was beginning the dissertation literature review. She was the awesome professional I needed to help me develop a clear hypothesis from my overwhelmed meanderings in the general literature. She saw what I was trying to articulate better than I could. She grounded me at the right time with the right pressure when needed help forming a concise study topic. She was crucial for my process and made the precise difference I needed at the appropriate time. This was instrumental in completing my dissertation.. Kathy patiently helped me put a clear proposal together working with through numerous iterations. She also helped me focus my Power Point presentations when I was presenting to my dissertation cohort. Her help gave me further confidence because I was getting good feedback from my cohort, my advisor and from Kathy. She also was crucial for statistical analysis, giving me a master class in good quantitative methods. I so needed her wisdom and insight with my study results. She also sent me to the right editor for my proposal and dissertation, Sue Morris of Editide. Together, Kathy and Sue helped me produce an outstanding dissertation draft and final submission to my committee. I successfully defended my dissertation and will graduate in June 2017.

I give The Dissertation Coach service my highest recommendation. They helped me when I was wandering around like so many ABDs. I’ve seen so many brilliant students fail to graduate because they get lost in the process and I wanted to ensure that didn’t happen to me. Please use this service. It will make a difference for you. It certainly did for me. Thank you The Dissertation Coach, Dr Alison Miller, Dr Kathy Stansbury and Sue Morris from Editide. Each one helped me across the finish line. Between the three of you and my committee, I have completed this phase of my education. I couldn’t be happier with the results. What a team. There is a degree and success on the other side.

Share:Email this to someone

Mickey Parsons, PsyD, MCC (Atlanta, GA)

I worked with Dr. Michael Sikes as my Dissertation Coach throughout 2015. Michael was knowledgeable and supportive as he helped shepherd me through the qualitative dissertation process. His help allowed me to complete my dissertation from concept through defense in just 54 weeks and with more confidence that I would have had going it alone. I highly recommend him to any other doctoral candidate considering qualitative research. Thanks again Michael!

Share:Email this to someone

SRN, MA

I found The Dissertation Coach online and it was the best thing for me at the time. I worked with Kristine Jones and she was able to guide me along the path to complete my Master’s Thesis. I was lost in the writing process and she was able to get me back on the path to success. She was professional and candid. I would not have done as well as I did if it was not for her help. I recommend this group of professionals whole heartedly.

Share:Email this to someone

Nicole PhD, Walden University

I sought help with my chapter 4 as at the last minute I had to change from a quantitative study to a qualitative study and no idea what to do! Valentina Kloosterman was assigned to help me and I appreciated her feedback. She was able to provide examples of how to code and look at themes. I appreciate that I did not have to navigate things on my own and learn to do things without outside guidance. I have recommended The Dissertation Coach to my friends who are still going through the process.

Share:Email this to someone

Patty G. PhD

Valentina Kloosterman was so helpful in coaching me to the finish line! Without her guidance, I would still be struggling to finish my already prolonged dissertation, but instead I will be graduating and celebrating my success. I am grateful to Alison Miller for connecting me with Valentina and for finding the right fit. Thank you for helping to make my dreams come true!

Share:Email this to someone

Lauren, PsyD, Alliant International University

After watching Alison Miller’s YouTube video, I decided that THIS COACHING SERVICE IS FOR ME! I constantly struggled with maintaining motivation and related to so much of what Alison discussed in the dissertation workshop video on her website, that I chose to contact The Dissertation Coach. I highly recommend watching this video!

My deepest gratitude and sincere appreciation is extended to Kathy Stansbury for her warm support and expert guidance throughout the preparation and execution of my dissertation. Kathy worked closely with me from the beginning stages of my dissertation to the very end. Even with our 3-hour time difference, she was always readily available. Kathy helped me establish manageable timelines, set short and long-term goals, and shared useful tips that I will use for the rest of my life! When I had setbacks and feelings of self-doubt, she always knew what to say to keep me motivated and moving forward. I really enjoyed hearing her personal stories about her dissertation and graduate school experience. Kathy not only encouraged excellence throughout this academic endeavor but she also contributed to my personal growth by helping me accept that “this being human is a guest house.” In addition to challenging me to work hard and generously sharing with me her confidence in my abilities, Kathy’s personal commitment to clarifying the seemingly insurmountable task of completing my dissertation was invaluable, and her ingenious contributions significantly enriched my project! Thank you for everything, Kathy!!

Share:Email this to someone

Michelle Purdom, PhD, RN

My experience with The Dissertation Coach started with Alison Miller who took the time to find out my specific needs and explain the customized services available. She had a sense of urgency and commitment to finding the right coach for me and it paid off. Initially I worked with Rowena Robles on my dissertation proposal. She was fast, honest, and knowledgeable. I was able to successfully defend my dissertation! The next step was publishing my results in a peer reviewed journal. Once again I reached out to Rowena and she quickly referred me to her colleague Jennifer Gonzalez who has more experience in my specialty and my target journal. Once again I had a positive experience. Jennifer kept my budget in mind and the turn-around times expected from the journal Everyone I have come into contact with at The Dissertation Coach convinced me that I would finish and I would publish. Having these professionals in my corner made all the difference in the world! I’m happy to say the results of my study will be published in an upcoming issue of my first choice target journal. Thank you!

Share:Email this to someone

Alex, PhD

Alison was fabulous in keeping me focused throughout my dissertation process. She matched me to Laura Plybon. Laura was an excellent consultant who patiently discussed alternative approaches and supported me throughout the entire process. Her critical mind was integral to pushing me to keep thinking and innovating. Without Alison’s leadership and Laura’s direct support I certainly would not have made it through the process. I appreciate all of their help and support.

Share:Email this to someone

Judith, PhD, Trident University

I want to thank the Dissertation Coach for the excellent support I received for both statistics (Cassady Pitt) and dissertation editing and consulting (Christopher Bradley). I had reached what is commonly referred to “as the end of my rope” when The Dissertation Coach offered the support and encouragement needed to complete this process. I was seriously thinking of terminating my relationship with the university and I believe that Christopher’s timely and expert intervention is what has allowed me to use the title Dr. today. I cannot thank you enough.

Share:Email this to someone

Dr. Darrell Price, DBA

The Dissertation Coach was an invaluable resource that helped me finish a stalled Dissertation. The staff was very knowledgeable, helpful, and timely in their responses. I found the team to be professional and very courteous. I am profoundly grateful and attribute a significant amount of my success to the Dissertation Coach Team.

Use them!!!

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD

I am a former client of Dissertation Coach working with Dr. Harry McGinnis. I have completed my doctorate work at a university in the UK. I was a mature student working full time and doing my PhD part time. Harry’s work with me helped me get through a time where I was not making as much dissertation progress as I wanted. Afterwards, I was refocused and made good progress once again after getting bogged down. I think a key a key part of The Dissertation Coach is matching between consultant and client. For me, Harry turned out to be a good match. Well done.

Share:Email this to someone

Jarid T. Ison, DBA

Reflecting back on my educational career and the transformation I have made as a academic, I have to say if you asked me 10 years ago I would never have guessed that I would have a doctorate degree. Well, today I can proudly say that I have something that the majority of people do not have, my Doctorate in Business Administration. It was a lot of hard work and without the help of The Dissertation Coach, I would not have been able to finish. Dr. Harry McGinnis is an amazing resource, mentor, and I consider him a friend. Harry was there with me through the good days and the bad. If I needed to call and vent, or just run something by him, he made the time to be there for me. Dr. Alison Miller who owns the company, is engaged in all of her clients and willing to talk with them. I had a few battles to fight with my university, and both Alison and Harry were engaged through the entire process. If you need help, feel like the challenge cannot be overcome, do not lose hope. Call The Dissertation Coach and they will get you through it. My experience here has changed my life, and I cannot send enough praises out about this organization.

Share:Email this to someone

Amberly Wagner-Connolly DNP, MSN, RN

Dear Alison, I truly believe that if I had not found The Dissertation Coach I would not have made it through my doctoral program. As a busy mom of 6, working full time, with baby number 7 on the way and only a few classes and my project to go for completion of my DNP, I was desperate for some guidance. I was so stressed and feeling hopeless until my consultant, Deirdre Rogers came into the picture. She reminded me that I am an expert, and that I do have very important contributions to bring to the world. She was always just an email away and was so quick to respond to my questions no matter how “dumb” I thought they might be. She never made me feel judged and she truly was the miracle I needed. When baby 7 came (#3 during my Doctorate) I was convinced I would never be able to pull it off. When I was at a low point, a phone call and additional guidance from my consultant always pushed me to keep moving forward. She took the time to understand what was important to me and helped me create a plan to make it happen. Her turnaround time was excellent and her knowledge was priceless. This month I can say I am finally done with my degree, but I am not done pursuing my dreams to make a difference in the world. I plan to continue to take advantage of the services my consultant has to offer throughout the rest of my career. I value her input and I know that she will be an excellent resource for me for years to come. I cannot thank you and Deirdre enough!!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous

I sought assistance from The Dissertation Coach early on in my dissertation because I knew the importance of a great start. After my initial consultation with Alison Miller, PhD., I knew I had the right agency to guide me throughout my dissertation. During that initial consultation, Dr. Miller suggested that I work with Rowena Robles, PhD., who was an expert in my research topic. Dr. Robles provided valuable knowledge on my research topic. For example, in my literature review, I was hinting about a specific theory that I knew nothing about. However, Dr. Robles recognized the theory right away and recommended that I read up on it because she knew it would make my research stronger. After reading about that theory, I agreed with Dr. Robles that it was appropriate for my research. I wrote about that theory in my literature review and used it as part of my conceptual framework. Without Dr. Robles’ knowledge, I would have never learned about that theory and my dissertation would have been weak. Throughout my dissertation, I knew Dr. Robles’ intentions were to help me write a strong dissertation. I would highly recommend The Dissertation Coach and Dr. Robles to others. Thank you Dr. Miller and Dr. Robles.

Share:Email this to someone

N.B., PhD

When I contacted The Dissertation Coach I needed a lot of help with my concept paper because my mentor was not helping me at all. I had already been working on my concept paper for 15 months and I was not progressing. Alison paired me with Harry on the team. Harry had a lot of experience related to my topic. Honestly, Harry provided more guidance and mentoring than my chair ever did. Harry helped me with the entire dissertation process all the way through to my defense. I´m so grateful to The Dissertation Coach and Harry for their invaluable feedback and support.

Share:Email this to someone

Recent PhD, Humanities

Recently I walked in my PhD graduation ceremony and I know this would not have been possible without the support, encouragement and advice provided by Michal Lemberger and The Dissertation Coach. I was facing a touch situation where my advisor was unhappy with my work but provided very vague feedback and ultimately did not seem willing to either read or support my work. Michal provided consistent, clear feedback and talked me through the weaknesses of my writing and pointed out where I could strengthen arguments. Her questions and suggestions were always on point. I can’t thank her enough and The Dissertation Coach for connecting me to such a wonderful resource. Thank you!

Share:Email this to someone

T.D.

The person I worked with at The Dissertation Coach was a total rock star. Dr. Bradley was able to quickly assess my current situation and provide suggestions to move me forward. He worked with me and provided me with timely advice and never spent more billable time than necessary to conduct reviews. Without his assistance and guidance, I am positive I wouldn’t have been able to complete my program. My only regret is that I did not contact The Dissertation Coach sooner. I could have shaved years off the time it took to complete my dissertation and saved me thousands in tuition.

Share:Email this to someone

Robert

I was fairly apprehensive to work with The Dissertation Coach at first because I had never sought the assistance of anyone during graduate school. I had come to a place in my project work where I was basically struggling to move forward. I can honestly say that without the help of The Dissertation Coach’s and my consultant Rowena Robles, I would not be finished today. Rowena explained and framed things in such a way that I more easily could comprehend and we established deadlines to keep me on track. All of her suggestions and advice were spot on. That’s what The Dissertation Coach does, they pair you up with an expert in your respective field and guide you to your goal. I recommend The Dissertation Coach with complete confidence to anyone looking for professional guidance and assistance in the dissertation arena. Thanks Rowena and The Dissertation Coach team!

Share:Email this to someone

Shawntye, PhD Education

I struggled to get my concept paper approved for two years. My chair was not helpful at all and I was frustrated and ready to quit. After two requests to change chairs and a brief leave of absence, my request was finally granted. Before my new chair with my new session began, I decided to seek the help of The Dissertation Coach so that I could be prepared. I started working with Dr. Rowena Robles one month before my first meeting with my new chairperson. Rowena guided me in establishing reasonable goals and timelines and helped me to see how my ideas weren’t aligning with each other. She was very encouraging and checked in with me often. Once I started my new course with my new chair person, my concept paper was approved within 3 months! Rowena’s guidance, coaching and encouragement motivated me to complete my milestones on time. Once my concept paper and dissertation proposal were approved I was on a time crunch to get IRB approval, collect data, and defend before the graduation deadline. Rowena was upfront with me about her ability to work with me with such strict deadlines so she solicited help from a colleague at The Dissertation Coach to assist me with my statistical analysis section. Dr. Cassady Pitt then came in to support me in the 9th inning and help me bring it all home. She did a fantastic job helping me to understand the statistics involved in my study. Both Dr. Robles and Dr. Pitt were awesome. They got me from an approved concept paper to an approved dissertation and successful defense in less than a year! They were my lifelines when I needed them the most and I highly recommend the services of The Dissertation Coach. Everyone is responsive and very professional.

Share:Email this to someone

Yvette Monique Harris, EdD, Education Leadership, Liberty University, 2016

I began working with Rowena Robles due to a lack of support from my university. Not only was she able to assist me with the structure of my dissertation, she also provided me with relevant resources I was able to incorporate into my study. Her feedback was timely, and she made herself available when I needed her. Rowena’s style of assistance and encouragement included accountability phone calls and text messages along with her emails! This service is definitely worth utilizing. Had I used it before starting my study, I would have completed my doctorate even sooner!

Share:Email this to someone

Maria Luz Martinez, PhD, Clinical Psychology

Dr. Christopher Bradley was a critical instrument in my completion of my degree. As you might recall I spoke to two prior dissertation coaches and both said they couldn’t help me, I have three words to describe Dr. Bradley: professional, knowledgeable, and a true subject matter expert.

Share:Email this to someone

Tina Brady, EdD, NCU

My work with Ani Moughamian-Rosenberg has been an amazingly wonderful experience. She understands how to help a writer who is stuck. I asked her to help with findings and implications of my qualitative research. She was able to see where giving me a few examples of wording would get me to understand how to tell the story in a better way. With her examples and guidance for two chapters, I was able to go back and correct the entire document to make it read more smoothly and “tell the story” of my research. The reviews of my final submission of the dissertation resulted in comments such as “impressive” and “a model for other dissertation research” from the chair and committee. Ani always returned her suggestions in a timely manner or let me know where she was in the process, and sent me parts I could work on. She also let me know how long it took her to review my work and I couldn’t believe how efficiently she worked. Her insights were amazing and I’m sure the timeline of my dissertation would have been cut in half if I had worked with her from the beginning. Thank you to The Dissertation Coach for connecting me to Amazing Ani!

Share:Email this to someone

Renee D., Doctoral Student

I contacted The Dissertation Coach after many attempts to find affordable and high quality assistance with coding my qualitative data. I was paired with Mike Sikes who immediately put me at ease with the process. Mike gave me wonderful instructions and our check-in meetings were extremely helpful as I worked through the data. I went from nervous to confident in a few short weeks of working with him. I would not be where I am–almost over the finish line–without Mike’s assistance and support. Thank you!

Share:Email this to someone

Jill Jacobs

My dissertation proposal has just been submitted, right on time and on budget. This is what I have to say about Kris Jones: SHE IS THE BIG GUNS! I have been a teacher for decades, yet, her skills as a educator are inspirational. During the past six years, I have also worked with professional editors writing a manuscript. Kris’ editing expertise way beyond theirs. Kris was right there with me. She is hard-working, compassionate, flexible, and intelligent. What a difference her assistance made to my work, and, no doubt, my future. What a great service and I feel proud about my PhD Project and the investment to use your services.

Share:Email this to someone

Dr. JD

I would like to think that I was in a unique situation when I sought out The Dissertation Coach. I had successfully defended my thesis and was looking for a cleanup of the mess of a situation that I was in post-defense, pre-graduation. The Dissertation Coach not only provided me with the coaching and consulting needed to cross the finish line, but also the team was a support group. I didn’t think TDC was going to be more than a service, but Alison and Rowena actually checked in on me after I stopped using the service, and they really cared. I was at a very low point psychologically, and they lifted me up. Simply amazing.

Share:Email this to someone

Gene Hutchinson

Greatest acknowledgment to The Dissertation Coach, who guided me through my dissertation. I was totally lost as my chair did very little to assist me along the way. I came in contact with Alison Miller and Kristine Jones at The Dissertation Coach and today I am getting ready to graduate in June 2016. The assistance I received was total and complete, as I was guided with great precision to the end as soon as I found The Dissertation Coach. I WILL HIGHLY RECOMMEND this group as they were very professional and thorough. Thank you kindly.

Share:Email this to someone

Carol Brady, PsyD, Geropsychology

I have been fortunate to have help from two different coaches from the Dissertation Coach. Alison chose them for me and the fit was exceptional. Both coaches not only helped me with the editing of a thesis and dissertation I needed but they were also great cheerleaders helping to encourage me and keep me going through the writing process and on to success. I recently was awarded an additional Masters in General Psychology and a PsyD in Geropsychology. I cannot give Alison and her staff enough praise for the wonderful help they provided to me.

Share:Email this to someone

The Grateful PhD

You’ve come to the right place! Don’t panic because “there’s a solution.” The Dissertation Coach team gives new meaning to the word “professional.” All hands were on deck and supported me to the finish line. Thank you for sharing your expertise and service to the academic community.

Share:Email this to someone

Cora Case, PhD, Walden University

I would not have made it through without Rowena Robles, PhD. Thankfully, she was able to pull me out of despair several times during my dissertation proposal and final dissertation journey. Pursuing something as complicated and foreign as a PhD in the online university environment is not for the faint of heart. Even though you have a chair and a committee they are only accessible by phone or email as well as supporting several other students in the process. Having my very own coach on my side to navigate and work through the complexities of a dissertation definitely made the difference between success and failure. Rowena was the first person I called to tell her I had received URR approval and was on the last step of the approval process. She was so excited for me and now I am officially Dr. Case!!

Share:Email this to someone

Dr. Marie Ferguson, Education

Dr. Miller,
I would like to thank you for recommending Dr. Laura Plybon to me in reference to my dissertation. She is the absolute best to work with. Because of her I successfully defended my dissertation today. Her knowledge and work ethic is beyond anything I have ever seen. She really cares about seeing you reach the end. I give her all the credit for my successful and smooth defense. My dissertation was accepted with only a spacing error missed by the professional editor. That should tell you how great her statistical and editing work is! Again, thank you and Dr.Plybon.

Share:Email this to someone

Dr. Rivers

My consultant was excellent, very responsive, and took the time to answer any and all questions. I know that if it had not been for my consultant getting me on the right path with my research questions I would have been in big trouble down the road.

Share:Email this to someone

Selena Fischer PhD

I had a very successful experience with utilizing the services of Dissertation Coach when completing my PhD. I worked with Rowena Robles, PhD and had a very positive experience. The staff was very friendly. Their knowledge base and turn around rate definitely supported my needs. I would highly recommend the use of their services.

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD, North Central University

I contacted The Dissertation Coach when I was still struggling with a topic. I had a general idea of the direction that I wanted to go with my dissertation topic but was really having trouble envisioning exactly how all of the pieces were going to fit together. I wanted to begin the dissertation process with a firm grip on exactly what my topic was going to be, my research question was going to address, and my study was going to look like. I was introduced to Laura Plybon and she has been a LIFE SAVER! I cannot imagine how much longer this process would have taken and how much more stressful this process would have been without her. Within the first few conversations with Laura my topic took shape and I really had a good idea of what my study was going to entail as well. I would recommend STARTING with a dissertation coach to anyone who is beginning the dissertation process. There are several reasons that I recommend this. First of all, Laura helped me avoid a lot of pitfalls that I would have stumbled into had I been going at it blindly. The people who work at The Dissertation Coach have seen it all and can guide you around things that are going to cause you major headaches later down the road. They can also show you the most efficient way to go about things so that you aren’t spinning your wheels. Additionally, the university chairs often have HUGE case loads and cannot devote adequate attention to their students. I found that it was incredibly helpful to run things by Laura before submitting them to my chair. By doing so, I was able to clear up the big problems so that my chair had very few comments/change requests and I was able to move through my milestones relatively quickly. From start to finish, my dissertation took almost exactly a year to complete. From reading the forums at NCU, I know that many people have much different dissertation experiences. I do not feel that I could have possibly completed my dissertation this quickly without the support and advice of Laura. Not only did she have a vast amount of knowledge to offer, but she was also reassuring and helpful when I hit an obstacle. I am so very thankful that The Dissertation Coach exists and would recommend the services of this company to ANYONE who is beginning this journey. They can save you some time, your sanity, and ultimately save you money as well. I guarantee I spent less money on dissertation coach services that I would have spent on extra dissertation classes

Share:Email this to someone

Lisa, PhD, New England, Massachusetts

Laura and Alison are simply a dynamic team. The support, feedback, and guidance throughout my research study was impeccable. In addition, I learned throughout my experience that Laura and Alison are the type of team that any doctoral student candidate aspires to learn from – both in qualitative and quantitative research. I have never met such thoughtful, competent, gifted, personable, resourceful, analytical, and talented coaches. Both practitioners have credentials of the highest caliber and are an amazing, supportive team. The qualities that Laura and Alison possess added to their unwavering dedication to all aspects of research enhance their creativity and knowledge. Going above and beyond with personalized attention demonstrates merely a small portion of this invaluable team. The Dissertation Coach has my highest recommendation!

Share:Email this to someone

Luis, Doctoral Student

I worked with Dr.  Laura Plybon over the course of many months and must say that she was instrumental in helping me brainstorm, clarify my goals, select a solid and unique line of research for my thesis, and finally helped me framework my research. I truly feel she is a great coach. She allowed my ideas to flow freely and I could count on her expertise when in doubt. I honestly feel you could not hire a better person to help you in this most complicated process. A patient and extremely knowledgeable coach.

Share:Email this to someone

Patrick Whitaker, PhD, Instructional Technology, The University of Alabama

My experience with The Dissertation Coach was beyond exceptional. I can say, unequivocally, that without the support of my coach (Alison Miller) and consultant (Carrie Petrucci), I would not have completed my PhD. I worked with Carrie for over two years and very sporadically at times. She was able to pick right up at any point that I needed her. She was very fair about hours charged and extremely knowledgeable about all types of statistical analyses. She even helped me work through some things while she was off taking care of personal business on the other side of the country. When I was about to throw in the towel, I talked with Alison first. She not only convinced me that I could complete my doctorate but provided critical strategies to help me overcome ADHD, procrastination, and writer’s block (among other things). Any time I felt like I could not continue, Alison was there with an adequate solution to my problem. The Dissertation Coach provided me with detailed feedback on my writing that we all hope our chair will provide. Unfortunately, that fails to happen all too often. This was a bargain compared to tuition and it was exactly what I needed – when I needed it. I checked out several coaches before committing to TDC. Though there are many good ones, the value provided by Alison and her team is hard to beat. If you are overwhelmed by frustration and confusion, The Dissertation Coach can help you deal with it and move forward to a successful conclusion of your degree. I recommend them without reservation. You will not be disappointed!

Share:Email this to someone

Martin, PhD, Education, Trident University International

I would like to thank The Dissertation Coach especially Dissertation Consultant and Statistician, Christopher Bradley for all the support he provided me both personally and professionally. His level of expertise as a statistician and editor is exemplary. I wanted to give up so many times but it was Christopher that encouraged me not to give up. I can recall his words ringing in my ears, “You have come too far to give up, if you just hang in there, I will get you to the finish line.” No words could express the impact and motivation of those encouraging words from Christopher and I am internally grateful for him not giving up on me. I highly recommend the Dissertation Coach to anyone that is working on his or her dissertation. I learned a very important lesson about my work during my dissertation and that is, if you cannot do it by yourself it makes a big difference to hire an expert to help you gain the skills you need to get  across the finish line. The Dissertation Coach did that for me.

Share:Email this to someone

V. B. H

I had a wonderful process of learning. The consultant I was assigned to was a great statistician (Dr. Kathy Stansbury). She helped me a great deal with stats, provided emotional support and was very accessible to me. The Dissertation Coach is definitely a good company to consider when you feel helpless, don’t know what to do, or how to proceed with your study. I was very desperate when I started but learned a great deal during this process and built confidence and self-esteem.

Share:Email this to someone

GG, MA Applied Linguistics

I had a very positive experience with Stephanie Latkovski as my dissertation coach. After failing my first attempt, she helped me identify flaws with my dissertation and help me correct them in a way that my professor wasn’t able to. She took a real interest in me and my work and genuinely wanted me to pass. I would highly recommend her.

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD

Laura Plybon was the consultant who coached me to the finish line during my doctoral dissertation process. Because of Laura’s profound knowledge and expertise with the expectations of universities, she was able to mitigate the unnecessary struggles that students experience during ambiguous moments. Laura is not only an expert consultant but also she is a wonderful friend that tells you the truth from day one. Moreover, Laura expressed genuine interest and educated me during the dissertation process and provided me with the necessary advice and guidance that some committee members fail to do. Again, Laura is truly one of a kind and her work efforts should be emulated by others. I highly recommend any student who is attempting to obtain a degree to request the consulting services of Laura. You will not be disappointed! It was an extreme pleasure to work with her.

Share:Email this to someone

RST, PhD

I had the distinct pleasure of working with The Dissertation Coach. Just about every doctoral student has moments of feeling “stuck” along the road to completion. The dissertation journey can be extremely isolating, unforgiving, frustrating, and at times, the student can feel like he or she is digging a hole rather than making meaningful progress. The Dissertation Coach service was a true lifesaver for me. What I would say to any doctoral student reading this: what I loved so much about the service I received from the Dissertation Coach, is that the entire collaboration experience was about my personal learning and development. The biggest hurdle for any doctoral student will be the unique set of challenges, weaknesses, and blind spots we have as budding scholars: everything from stubborn writing habits to our data analysis skills. No one can be great in all areas, and this is where having the right type of coach can make an enormous difference. Unfortunately, not all chairpersons and committee members are talented student mentors. They may be brilliant human beings and knowledgeable in their field, and they may be very positive and encouraging, but academic coaching is an extremely specific skill-set and frankly, most career academics are less than adequate at knowing how to best develop the individual doctoral student when they have hit a wall in their progress. If nothing else, they likely do not have adequate time even if they do have the ability! My decision to seek assistance from the Dissertation Coach was one of the best I’ve ever made in my life. This service helped me to grow tremendously as a scholar by identifying my key areas of opportunity. My coach helped me navigate over the hurdles! My coach was a true partner; an expert who was available to me at specific critical points to quality check, to advise, to counsel, and to encourage.

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD

My dissertation consultant helped me better understand comments provided by my dissertation advisor. Coaching was useful in ensuring my qualitative research methods were considered trustworthy in my dissertation proposal. After defending my proposal, I sought help developing my findings, writing vignettes, and editing my literature review. I discussed with my Coach how to create a better balance between claims and evidence, use vignettes to emotionally connect with the reader, and balance my observational vignettes with interview data–in short, how to write findings in a qualitative study. My consultant also helped me reorganize some key points in the literature review to help readers understand my phenomenon. 200 plus pages later, my dissertation and defense were accepted by my committee for publication. Working with The Dissertation Coach helped me fill in gaps created by being an off-campus student, a novice researcher, and working full time.

Share:Email this to someone

R. B., PhD, Management

My dissertation consultant, Deidre Rogers, made traveling to an unfamiliar land of doing a dissertation a pleasant journey. In looking back, I would have spent twice as long wandering around trying to find my own way without her. So much time and effort was saved as she directed me to add some here, cut back there and gave context to the areas of uncertainty. She was a constant source of encouragement, inspiration and insight. Why go in blind when you can have a seasoned guide at your side?

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, Doctor of Nursing Practice, Nursing, Walden University

My first experience with dissertation editing was with another company who promised to get my dissertation done in 1 month. They asked me to pay upfront and as I was desperate for help, I wired them the money via Western Union. They first edit of my document was promised in 4 days, One week later, I was still waiting, they maintained communication with me via email, eventually, their telephone number was not working anymore. The next thing I knew, the email address was not working anymore, when I sent an email it was returned to back to me. I went online looking for them and their new contact information but they seem to have disappeared. I panicked and called The Dissertation Coach. In search of answers, I spoke to Dr. Alison Miller and explained my unfortunate experience with the other company. She explained how her business operates in an open, straightforward manner. Given my prior experience, it took me some time to have faith and work with her company. I decided to give her company a try. Thank God I did. Alison recommended Dr. Christopher Bradley who took me on and worked with me through thick and thin. I had many sleepless nights, where I doubted myself and questioned whether, I would ever get to the end of my program. If you get to a point where you feel like you have been “boxed in” and you feel like calling the whole thing quits, reach out to Dr. Alison Miller. She is fair and like a mother hen, she is very protective of her clients and the people who work for her. I trusted her and I followed her instructions and Christopher’s lead. In the end, I have Christopher to thank for the rest of my life. It was not because I was not smart enough. I have always been an A student throughout my school life but the dissertation portion of the program was extremely confusing to me because, as a nurse, we are not trained to do research. Also English is my second language. Yet the expectation for research or dissertation does not change because of your discipline or your mother tongue. The key to it is persistence, hard work, patience, and perseverance! Your dissertation coach and Dr. Alison Miller have a vested interest in your success. They don’t give up on you until you make it to the the finish line. Many thanks to Dr. Christopher Bradley my faithful dissertation consultant, Dr. Alison Miller and Ray Meek for your amazing company to help struggling student achieve our educational goals. I would strongly recommend any student regardless of your discipline, to reach out to the company that truly works. Stick it out with them and they will coach you to the finish line! If I can get there, you too can. I wish you the very best in your dissertation Journey and your future endeavors.

Share:Email this to someone

K. Mac, PhD

As the process of finishing the dissertation became more and more daunting, I started to become disenchanted and was on the verge of quitting. Then I found out about The Dissertation Coach. I worked with a member of their team named Harry McGinnis who was a god-send. He not only consulted with me and pointed in the right direction but his motivation and stewardship is why I have my doctorate. Through each obstacle, he was patient and was able to keep me going. I am grateful to The Dissertation Coach and to Harry for helping make my goal of earning a doctoral degree a reality.

Share:Email this to someone

Jo Anne M. Bonomi, Ph.D., Management

Let’s be honest with each other, the dissertation process is daunting, challenging and a test of true grit.  Any preconceived notions we might have of our academic prowess are quickly dismissed with the hard core reality of what I call dissertation (constructive) criticism.  The feedback received for required edits are not just grammar related, they are in-depth challenges of understanding design, methodology and analysis.  If you think you know it, the subject matter experts from scientific merit review will be sure to put what you think you know to the test. It was at this point when I knew in order to have any hope of saving face, I needed the assistance and support from more than just my mentor, I needed someone on my side that would make it okay for me to admit my ignorance and help me fill needed gaps for the chance to speak in the knowledgeable doctoral tone required to pass through the PhD gate.

I had previous conversations with The Dissertation Coach and spoke at length with Allison to outline my experience and goals, but somehow this return visit felt different.  I made changes with my mentor, I battled ethical and moral principles, and challenged the process enough to deliver the message “I am not going awayThis process means something to me, and until I achieve it, you will continue to see and read me.”  When Allison heard and recognized my passion, she identified the person who would provide the best fit.

Dr. Christopher Bradley, you have been the inspiration and academic professional who introduced me to terms that will forever leave an indelible mark on my brain.  Yes, ANOVA F test, R-Square, Unstandardized b coefficients, t-test were challenging in their own right, but when Dr. Bradley took me into the four-assumption abyss of linearity, homoscedasticity, independence/normality of errors and multicollinearity, I had serious concerns of ever coming back to that place called normalcy.  Not only did Dr. Bradley share his knowledge with patience (trust me he needed it), he also opened his brain to flood me with knowledge beyond belief.

It was important for me to share my journey with you, because it is important for you to understand you are where you are supposed to be.  This is not a mistake.  You are not expected to know everything there is to know about dissertation, and you are not expected to spend money you might not have needlessly in order to get through the process.  If you have not done so already, contact Alison Miller and help her understand what you are experiencing.  Be patient with yourself and know every professional on The Dissertation Coach team is ready and prepared to help you succeed.

Share:Email this to someone

Vernon Loeffler, Ph.D., Business

Dr. Ani Moughamian was extremely helpful to me while working on my dissertation. She provided valuable information that helped me complete my dissertation after struggling with it for many years. It was very obvious that she spent time reading through my dissertation drafts and then made extremely insightful suggestions for improvement. She provided reasonable estimates of when to expect draft revisions and always sent them within the time promised. I found Dr. Ani Mougamian to be a great asset that made the completion of my dissertation a reality. Thank you, Vernon Loeffler, Ph.D.

Share:Email this to someone

Dr. E

When I first called the Dissertation Coach Alison Miller connected me with Dr. Christopher Bradley and I truly can not thank her enough. Chris was a real blessing to me. I was not making any progress with my committee until Christopher starting consulting with me. He took the time to go over every step of the process and he also gave me the support that I needed to get to the finish line. I am so happy I made the decision to call the Dissertation Coach it was one of the best calls that I have ever made in my life!

Share:Email this to someone

CB, PhD

I just wanted to let you know what an AWESOME help Christopher Bradley has been to me!!  His knowledge, way of delivery and effective teaching methods with some of the most complicated of statistics has been all I could have ever hoped.  He has been conscientious with our appointments, available and more than supportive and kind to walk me through all I need to do.  His incredible knowledge of statistics and the SPSS program is a God-send.  Because of him, I am on the home stretch of my dissertation!!!    I am so impressed with the qualiity of help and support from your company and from Christopher in particular.  I have referred all my class-mates, they are likely to be contacting you!    I can’t say enough about what an incredible service you offer to doctoral students struggling through their dissertations.  I am grateful to you for setting this up and bringing in such high quality individuals as part of your organization.  You guys are THE one-stop shop for support with dissertations, hands down!!  I did interview someone else prior to you guys–they didn’t speak English as a first language (were very hard to understand) and they just crunched numbers without any support along the way.  Christopher not only understands my language, he has helped me understand his (statistics!!)  I am so glad I stumbled across you on the internet.   Keep up the great work!! You have my total support!!

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, Doctoral Student

I thought I’d drop you a note to tell you how much I appreciate the services offered by the Dissertation Coach. For years, I struggled with writing my dissertation.  Despite my best efforts, I just could not take it past infancy.  In frustration, I signed up with the Dissertation Coach last December. Since then, my progress has been phenomenal! I am happy to say that the dissertation is now a toddler and I continues to progress.  I could not have done this without the Dissertation Coach and the support of my fabulous editor and writing coach, Michal Lemberger!

Share:Email this to someone

Shirley M. Mayton, PhD, SPHR

The Dissertation Coach services were instrumental in the successful completion of my Dissertation. Christopher Bradley could not have been a better consultant. He walked me through everything with patience and clear explanations. It had been many years since I studied statistics, and he brought everything to life again. I received high allocates from my committee and passed my Oral Defense with flying colors! I could not have accomplished this without Christopher.

Share:Email this to someone

Dr. Clayton R. Alford

I have had the distinct pleasure of having Dr. Kristine Jones work privately with me while I was a Doctoral Candidate in The School of Advanced Studies at the University of Phoenix. Dr. Jones worked with me to fine-tune my Dissertation research topic and to format my hypotheses into the format required by the University. Working on a dissertation is challenging for many learners, Dr. Jones had a wealth of experience to help me understand the process and with her help, and I was able to use my time wisely during the formal writing process. Dr. Jones thoroughly understands APA formatting and editing and can provide students with accurate editorial services as well as tools to understand theoretical questions. Dr. Jones did not perform the work for you, but, rather, she worked with you to understand the techniques necessary for completing theoretical analyses. I highly recommend Dr. Kristine Jones as a research advisor who has the intellect and first-hand experience to help doctoral students navigate the dissertation process. I have no hesitation in recommending Dr. Kristine Jones as an exceptional and capable dissertation consultant  who has the experience and skills to work effectively with students needing technical assistance writing the dissertation.

Share:Email this to someone

L.R., EdD Candidate

Dr. Ani Moughamian has been great! She has provided me with specific feedback and focus with writing my dissertation. She is very encouraging. Even with life challenges, she guides the learner with ways to make progress. With her assistance, I hope to be submitting a completed proposal in the next couple of weeks and a completed dissertation over the next couple of months.

Share:Email this to someone

MG, Dissertation Candidate

Having worked on my dissertation for a number of years now, I was eager to move forward with my goals. Valentina Kloosterman, PhD was assigned to me. I wasn’t sure what to expect even though I worked with an editor in the past. The experience with Valentina was more about helping me bring my content to life than just editing it by itself. I knew that I had a lot of good data and an opportunity to benefit the research field. However, I just couldn’t articulate my thoughts in a scholarly manner or in a way that would be worthy of publication. Valentina was able to help me improve my work a great deal. She provided suggestions that didn’t change what I was trying to say but instead, helped me improve my writing and delivery without doing the writing for me. I am so grateful for the time and effort she put into assisting me.  It was worth every penny. I look forward to celebrating as I am now at the final stage of oral examination. I was impressed that it was the owner, Alison Miller, PhD who contacted me directly after I contacted her company. She took extra care to match me to Valentina. This is a good company with good intentions and well worth the investment, so don’t think twice!

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, M.S.

I have to admit that in the beginning, I was very skeptical and nervous about hiring a dissertation consultant. I had heard and read some terrifying stories about some of the other consulting companies, however, when I got in touch with Dr. Miller she put all my anxiety to rest in a very supportive and gentle manner. Working with my consultant has been such a wonderful experience that I don’t even have the words to describe it. Her attention to detail and level of care was extraordinary. At times, she could even sense my anxiety over the email and was able to calm me down and help me progress even further. She was able to explain statistics to me in a way that I have finally been able to understand it. Learning statistics in undergrad and grad school was dreadful for me, but she has actually made it exciting which is quite an accomplishment. She walked me through understanding SPSS and helped me understand the results of my analysis. What has impressed me the most is that it really feels that this work isn’t just a business, but it is evident that they both actually care about students’ success. I couldn’t be happier with their services. Soon, I will be defending my doctoral dissertation and I couldn’t have done it without their support.

Share:Email this to someone

Renyaldo Hernandez, PhD

A few days ago, I finished my dissertation and the day I passed my defense was the happiest ending of a very long but productive and rewarding journey. The PhD program was a very successful family project that involved and impacted the entire family for many years and although it was very successful, it was extremely challenging. Writing my dissertation was the hardest part of my journey. Quite often, I was discouraged and overwhelmed about the entire process and more than once, I thought about deserting the program. However, finding Dr. Alison Miller from Dissertation Coach was a lifesaver for me. During our initial conversation, she immediately understood my needs and quickly assigned Dr. Jill Blackwell to my project. Dr. Blackwell was able to successfully guide me through the entire process and gave me the tools to successfully finish my dissertation. Dr. Jill Blackwell always had the right words of encouragement when I felt the sky was falling, she coached me and guided me through the entire dissertation process in addition to reviewing and editing my entire manuscript, she is an excellent and very knowledgeable professional and a great person to work with, I am so happy and lucky I had Dr. Jill Blackwell as part of my dissertation team. Thank you Dr. Blackwell.

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD

I had the good fortune to work with Michal Lemberger, PhD when I was behind schedule and struggling with my first chapter in the beginning stage of writing my dissertation. By carefully reading my half-coherent notes, she was able to envision the whole project and guide me through the painful process of rethinking and restructuring my chapters. Her suggestions were always concrete and helpful. She infected me with her “can do” attitude and gave me simple tools to fight procrastination and other obstacles that interfered with productive work. As a result, I was able to complete my dissertation on time and improve the quality of my analysis.

Share:Email this to someone

Donovan Hugh James MSc. BSc. (Hons) MCMI

I am writing to inform you that I was successful in completing my Masters Degree in Security and Risk Management with the University of Leicester in the United Kingdom. This was confirmed by the school’s External Examination Board Meeting on 10 June 2014. I also wanted to express my sincere gratitude to Dr. Kristine Jones for the guidance and encouragement that she provided to me throughout my dissertation re-submission process. At time, the process of writing a thesis was really challenging but Dr. Jones never gave up on me, and as a result I did not give up on myself. Now I can see that with hard work and perseverance, one can always achieve greatness.Dr. Jones, thank you for being so patient and understanding with me during the process. I truly believe that you actually placed yourself in my shoes, you were able to relate to me and what I was trying to achieve in my dissertation, on every level. I could not ask for more than that. For that, I am extremely grateful. Dr. Miller I do believe that you are providing a great service to the academic community and I will not hesitate to recommend your services to anyone in need. Please keep up the good work.

Share:Email this to someone

Marie Ice, Masters of Art Degree in Religion from Fordham University

The task of writing a Masters thesis was overwhelming for me until I connected with The Dissertation Coach and specifically Kathryn Peterson. Kathryn was an ideal match for me because of her constant encouragement based in professionalism and knowledge of writing. She taught me how to organize my outline within a specific chapter before I began to write. When my writing began to wander away from the subject of the chapter she expertly guided me back to task with a simple question.   I am very grateful for Kathryn’s advice and expert attention to detail.

 

Share:Email this to someone

Sarah, PhD Candidate

I was in a terrible situation with my committee – stuck and paralyzed and uncertain that I’d be able to graduate. After the first hour of talking to my consultant at The Dissertation Coach, she re-assured me that this was not an insurmountable situation and that we could work through it. In the subsequent months my consultant has been helping me to develop a new topic, work through dealing with my struggles with my committee chair, and given me tremendous insight into how to navigate this process. Honestly, I would never be where I am without her guidance and support. She has saved my sanity and been one of the best things to come out of this process. I still have a ways to go before completion but I’m so grateful that I have The Dissertation Coach on my team now.

Share:Email this to someone

Evan Kent, Doctorate in Music Education

When I finished the first draft of my dissertation, it was returned with significant comments. I knew I no longer had the perspective to re-edit and re-format the dissertation.  Through an internet search, I found The Dissertation Coach, beginning a long and fruitful relationship with my personal dissertation consultant, Michal Lemberger, Ph.D. Michal provided the “tough love” I needed. Her knowledge, method, and no-nonsense approach provided the scaffolding I needed to rewrite and reorganize hundreds of pages. Eventually, I developed a document of which I was quite proud.  At the 11th hour, one of the readers of the dissertation found fault with large sections of the document. Again, Michal’s wisdom and care provided a sound and concrete method for addressing these revisions head on. Without her care, I would have not been able to see the proverbial forest from the trees.

Michal has also helped me with post-doctoral program applications, conference and paper proposals, and my dissertation is currently under review for publication by an academic press. She has been an exemplary coach and I am truly grateful to her wisdom and  guidance.

Share:Email this to someone

Doreen F., PhD

In my case, it wasn’t a lack of hard work or motivation holding me back.  I was successful in my classes and enjoying the journey of graduate school when I was assigned an incompetent advisor for my dissertation. Long story short, I received no assistance whatsoever from her in crafting my first dissertation proposal; after she singlehandedly rejected my proposal, she assigned a new topic and demanded another full proposal.  Her feedback was routinely convoluted and condescending.  Feeling frustrated and lost, I started surfing the internet for a coach. I cannot express the enormous relief I felt after just a few minutes on the phone with Dr. Alison Miller, and then with Dr. Christopher Bradley, my coach.  It was clear he knew his stuff, and it was also clear he knew how to teach it.  Suddenly, after spinning my wheels for two years with a nightmare for an advisor, the project flew. I can say with 100% certainty that I would have quit had it not been for Dr. Bradley’s support and expertise.  He was incredibly insightful about the inner workings of the academic world, and skillfully navigated me through the drama with patience and a cheerfulness that I was sorely lacking at the time.  Furthermore, once the project was underway, Dr. Bradley was there for me every step of the way.  He is a quality editor, a brilliant statistician, and thoroughly knowledgeable in every aspect of the dissertation process.  He was always on time for appointments and quick to provide feedback despite his busy schedule.  He respected my input, and worked with me to find solutions to my questions and concerns. He was also funny, warm and personable.  From the start, I knew I was in the hands of a superior coach who was sincerely committed to my success.  After successfully defending my dissertation, he was one of the first people I called to share the news.  No revisions were required, and the committee told me it was the tightest dissertation they had seen in some time.  I can’t recommend Dr. Bradley and The Dissertation Coach highly enough.  Thank you, thank you, thank you.

 

Share:Email this to someone

Susan N. Werkheiser, D.Ed.

I found the Dissertation Coach online as I was preparing my dissertation proposal and IRB application. When I began working with Dr. Christopher Bradley, he listened to what I needed, made suggestions, took what I had put together and helped to polish it. As a seasoned researcher, his help with the IRB application was invaluable due to some unique circumstances and his work with me saved my study from needless delays. When my study was complete and I was at the analysis phase of my work, Dr. Bradley was again of immeasurable assistance. With both his statistical experience, qualitative data expertise, and editing skills, he helped my especially negotiate the chapter of my dissertation I was dreading the most. I can say with confidence that Dr. Bradley greatly contributed to my ability in completing my project and ultimately my doctoral degree. I am so glad I made a contact with the Dissertation Coach because now I’m D.Ed. and not ABD!

Share:Email this to someone

J. G., Florida

Over the past year I’ve worked with Laura Plybon, PhD on my dissertation.  Her insight and wisdom regarding not only the research and statistics, but also the process was invaluable.  By working with Laura at the beginning stages, she was able to help steer me in the right direction and save time in the long run.  Her statistical knowledge and help was invaluable as it helped to alleviate a lot of concerns with that portion of my research.  She was always friendly, professional, and timely with answering questions and making recommendations.  I would highly recommend working with Laura as your dissertation consultant.

 

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD

I wanted to let you know that Kristine Jones was fantastic to work with and provided me with invaluable assistance when I needed it the most. She saved me a lot of time and aggravation by helping me to clarify my own thinking and to become a better writer.  I sincerely enjoyed working with Kristine and would wholeheartedly recommend her and your company to anyone embarking on the dissertation journey.

Share:Email this to someone

L.K., Education Doctoral Student, Illinois

 

Several months ago, I was looking for assistance and guidance to wrap up my dissertation. Thank God I found The Dissertation Coach! First, I spoke with Alison Miller. She was so friendly and accommodating…I could tell that she was genuinely in this to help people and I was so grateful.  Then, I met my consultant, Christopher Bradley, PhD. He was there for me when I needed him! Christopher wasn’t your average dissertation consultant. He had a very thoughtful, direct, and detailed interaction style when he was providing feedback. Additionally, he was sensitive to my concerns and needs, very patient, and professional! I was extremely pleased with the final product that he delivered.  Christopher is just great at what he does! Thank you Dissertation Coach!

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, Clinical Psychology, CA

I have really been impressed with the professionalism and the scholarly input I have received from Christopher Bradley, PhD at The Dissertation Coach in reviewing my dissertation proposal prior to submitting it to my Chair.  I was not only looking for an editor to scrub my paper for APA standards, but I also needed to improve the logic and flow.  I had been working alone on my paper for over two years with very little guidance. Thus it was very helpful to have Christopher read it and let me know where there were gaps.  Also, he is a wiz at methodology, which I am not.  His guidance was invaluable.  I highly recommend him.

Share:Email this to someone

Robin Tellez, Doctoral Student, University of Pheonix

Dear Alison:

On June 4, 2013, I received notification that my dissertation proposal finally received Institutional Review Board (IRB) approval.  This event transformed my life and my status from “doctoral learner” to “doctoral candidate” allowing me to begin the data collection and analysis for my research study.  The prospect of completing my doctorate degree became a reality…far from when I first contacted you after reading your book “Finish Your Dissertation Once and for All!”

 After reading your book in March 2012, I reached out to you by phone and after listening to my dissertation journey dilemma, you astutely recommended my current dissertation coach, Dr. Kristine Jones.  After just one phone conversation with Dr. Jones (Kris), I felt that I found someone who understood my study, my methodology, and dissertation struggle… attempting the most difficult accomplishment in academia: A doctoral degree.

I am writing this letter to recognize Dr. Jones in her abilities to “meet” me where I was as a lost struggling doctoral learner a year ago.  Through her patient guidance and support on not only how to write, but how to become assertive and make the best of a lonely journey in obtaining a doctoral degree from an online, for-profit university.  Words cannot truly express how she took me under her wing and nurtured my progress to this point…I look forward to her assistance during the rest of the journey…now on to the finish line. 

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD

 

“I honestly don’t think I would have received my Ph.D. if it wasn’t for Stephanie’s support. Being an American at a UK PhD program, I was surprised by the “hands-free” nature of the degree- there was no support, just a meeting every few months with my supervisor to go over what I had written since the last meeting. I wasn’t succeeding, and no one was able to tell me what I was doing wrong. So I kept chugging ahead, but I was miserable and worried.

Stephanie was able to give me the weekly contact/support that I craved. She even went out and read some of my primary (fiction) texts so she would know what I was talking about. It was amazing. She was able to help me with general drafting/planning, with writing and crafting an argument, and ways to research. But she also provided emotional support, letting me know there was someone on my side who believed in me and my work.

Again, without her, I just don’t know how it all would have worked out. But today I can say I have a PhD!”

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD

When I began working with Michal Lemberger more than a year ago, I lacked the confidence in my ability as a writer to turn the ideas I had in my head into a written product. But Michal helped me see past the dread of looking at a blank screen and provided essential (almost daily) consulting which resulted in a magnificent doctoral dissertation. One of the committee members at my defense—a very accomplished writer himself—went on and on about the quality of my prose. I could not believe it!

 

Michal was so much more than a copy-editor for me, although she does that task extremely well. She had the uncanny ability to suggest developmental and analytical routes I could not see because of stress and anxiety. Once I explained the arguments I wanted to make she helped me turn them into written text quite quickly. She is an amazing intellectual and a very accomplished writer, so she knew exactly how to help me refine my prose into an appropriate style. As the project progressed she was able to coordinate the earlier chapters with the later ones so that the constituent parts of the thesis spoke to each other. She was also very prompt in her feedback. Rarely a day went by when she did not get something done.

 

I learned so much about writing from Michal. Working with her has been one of the smartest decisions I have made. I had worked with another consultant outside of Alison’s group in the past, and Michal provided a lot more bang for her buck. The money I spent would have gone to continuing enrollment fees at my university regardless of whether I hired a consultant. I now have my degree and can move on with my life. Thanks Alison and Michal!

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, PhD Candidate, Counseling Psychology

Completing my dissertation was a daunting task, and I struggled from the very beginning. I had very little assistance from most of my
committee members, so I felt alone in the process. I completed as much of the manuscript as I could and submitted to my committee chair, who continued to offer little support. He even said he was “overwhelmed” by my product and suggested I hire a writing consultant to improve the organization of my manuscript. I felt so defeated and honestly almost gave up after receiving such inflammatory feedback. I trudged ahead, however, and came upon the dissertation coach website through an internet search. I was hesitant to pursue the services but I contacted Alison, who offered to speak with me personally via telephone to explain the process and quell my fears. She was able to put me at ease immediately and selected a writing coach who was familiar with my area of study. I worked with Ani Moughamian. Working with Ani was a great experience. Communicating with her was easy and comfortable. She provided quick and comprehensive feedback and was positive with her critiques. Ani took the time necessary to assist me throughout the process of finishing my dissertation and did so in a manner consistent with my tight deadline. I recently submitted my final draft. My chair provided me with some positive feedback and said the draft was in good shape to move forward. I now have my defense date set, and I couldn’t be happier! I’m not sure I would’ve gotten to this point without help from Ani and Alison. I only wish I’d begun working with them earlier in the process. Please do not hesitate to work with Alison and her team. You will not regret it! Thank you, Alison and Ani!

Share:Email this to someone

J.R., Recent PhD Graduate

Deirdre Rogers at The Dissertation Coach has been absolutely wonderful. The minute I spoke with her on the phone, I knew that she was the one that I would hire to help me during the dissertation process. I had spoken with several other dissertation consultants but none of them felt right to me. I couldn’t have finished my doctoral dissertation without her help. She is to be commended for her excellent work and support. She was always so kind and patient with me. She was very professional and courteous. She listened intently to my needs and provided outstanding suggestions and guidance. Whether it was via e-mail or via telephone meetings, she was always extremely helpful. Many times, after our telephone conversations, I felt as though the “light bulb” went on in my brain. I had those Aha! moments which made me feel much more confident and gave me the motivation to keep moving forward in the dissertation process. In addition, she always gave me such encouraging words which lifted my spirits when I was a bit discouraged. There are not enough words to express my deepest appreciation for Deirdre and her excellent assistance. I will certainly consider her for any additional assistance that I may need later on as I start publishing articles. And I will definitely recommend her to anyone who needs dissertation consulting assistance.

Share:Email this to someone

JD, Doctoral Student

Dr. Christopher Bradley has been a tremendous resource in helping me to keep on track and work through the dissertation process. I contacted Christopher after several months of inactivity and writer’s block. He helped me to clarify the direction of my project and get me moving in the right direction. He has done a fantastic job of reviewing my work, editing, and providing many helpful suggestions to keep the project on track. Christopher is a pleasure to work with and I wholeheartedly recommend him to anyone who is struggling or would like an extra set of eyes to help with their dissertation.  Knowing that he is there for me has been a tremendous help through this process.

Share:Email this to someone

Michelle Thompson, PhD

When I contacted The Dissertation Coach, I had drafted all of the chapters of my dissertation, but my advisor liked none of them. I didn’t know where to go for help. I knew I needed more than a copy editor and the person who would be up to the task was hard to find. Michal Lemberger, PhD did a thorough and phenomenal job editing my chapters. The feedback was thoughtful and consistent, so I could take what she did and apply it to the two chapters I didn’t give her to edit. I graduated in January and my committee said that I had made real contributions to the field. Michal’s work really kept what I wrote in my voice and made it more concise and organized! Thank you! You saved me!

Share:Email this to someone

Cecile Mallory, PhD, Instructional Design for Online Learning, Capella University

With the help of Dr. Boykins at The Dissertation Coach, I was able get past a significant hurdle of writer’s block coupled with a lack of clarity and scope with respect to how I structured my dissertation. I could not see the problem with what I had written because I was too close to it. Dr. Boykins shed light on the issues and provided solid direction for improvement. It is because of her support and resourcefulness I was finally able to complete my PhD. I do not think I could have without her help. Thank you!!

Share:Email this to someone

Dr. Linda Kaiser, Capella University

Dr. Colleen Halliday-Boykins is an excellent dissertation consultant and is highly recommended. I contacted Colleen when I reached Chapter 4 in my dissertation. I had collected data and was now on a tight timeline. I knew I couldn’t complete all of the necessary analysis alone in time. From the very first phone call with Colleen I knew she was a confident and highly experienced professional in the area of statistics. She immediately put my mind at ease, was consistently professional in all communication, and quickly responsive to all questions I had throughout the process. I was never left wondering if I would get a response – she was that quick at addressing any questions or concerns I had. I was provided with high-quality work that exceeded all of my expectations. Everything was explained so very clearly and I completely understood the how and why of the entire process. Colleen remained engaged in this process completely through my defense answering any question, no matter how small, almost immediately. In our final email conversations, Colleen asked to be notified as soon as I had completed my defense call so she could be one of the first to call me Dr. Kaiser! That shows that Colleen is interested in her clients not just for business reasons but also as real people. I have since referred Colleen to several of my colleagues who have also given me thanks for the referral as their experiences were just as stellar. Thank you so very much Dr. Colleen Halliday-Boykins for a superior job not only in the service you provide but for your excellence in customer service as well.

Share:Email this to someone

Tracy Thomas, PhD., Psychology

After an exhausting experience writing chapter 2, I knew I needed help editing both my chapter 2 and all of the subsequent chapters to come. Jill Blackwell, PhD helped me streamline a 265 page project into a dissertation that received feedback such as, “this is the best dissertation I’ve ever read” from multiple members of my university. Jill was not only efficient, she was fast, thorough, and spot on with her input. Jill was also incredibly encouraging and enthusiastic about my dissertation, which was validating and motivating. The accessibility I had to Jill, her quick response time and problem solving ability, gave me the feeling that I had a partner, a team member, a mentor, a teacher, a therapist, and a cheerleader along the way. It’s a great thing when you get more and better help than expected, and from someone you’d want to be friends with. I cannot say enough about Jill Blackwell.

Share:Email this to someone

M. O., Doctorate in Psychology

With literally a few emails and two short phone calls, Colleen was able to provide me with the guidance and direction that my committee collectively had not provided over the course of the two years I had been working on my dissertation. I had already defended my proposal, collected data, and written several complete drafts of my dissertation. Even though it seemed I was close to the end, I could not get past this part of the dissertation process due to several challenges with lack of support from my university, as well as various struggles with my committee. Colleen was able to provide me with the support and guidance one would expect from a dissertation chair. I worked with several dissertation coaches who honestly were a waste of my money and added to my frustration, so by the time I had the initial consultation with Colleen, I was very discouraged that my project would ever be completed and was quite frankly exhausted.  From the start, Colleen provided me with what I needed…someone with specific experience and know-how in my field, realistic goals and flexibility, and the right attitude…that “in spite of” the challenges I was facing with my actual committee, I was going to be successful in creating a solid finished product.  In essence, she acted as my pseudo-chair. I really appreciated her direct approach and was very happy with her efficiency with product turn around and concise feedback. What I was most surprised about was that she actually corrected very little of my actual writing, but rather she taught me how to approach things differently, and empowered me to be a more skilled writer.  So in essence, I am much more competent in compiling literature reviews and writing up research. By the time I submitted a completed paper to my actual committee, my confidence surrounding my project was unbelievably improved. Not only was I confident in my product, but my passion for my project was renewed which definitely helped facilitate getting to the final defense and then successfully defending. Wholeheartedly, I feel every penny spent for Colleen’s services was well worth it. I have recommended and will continue to recommend Colleen to other colleagues in need of something more than what they are getting from their actual committee members.

Share:Email this to someone

Melva Turner, Ph.D., Capella University

I began my dissertation journey in January 2009 and after many revisions, my proposal was accepted by the Institutional Review Board in August 2010.  Once I completed my research, I made the decision to contact a statistician to assist with a quantitative analysis.  Prior to contacting The Dissertation Coach, I had contacted another company.  However, I was not completely satisfied after talking with the representative of the company.  Subsequently, I went online and searched for another statistician.  I was fortunate enough to find The Dissertation Coach.  After reading about the company, I decided to call and talked with Colleen Halliday-Boykins, Ph.D. with whom I immediately felt comfortable.  Once I e-mailed all the data and necessary forms, Colleen was very expeditious in performing the analysis and providing notes explaining the outcome.  I wrote Chapter 4, and sent it to ColIeen for her to critique as well because I did not want to prolong the dissertation any longer.  Needless to say, Chapter 4 took far less time for approval than the previous three chapters.  I signed the contract with The Dissertation Coach on November 11, 2010, and Chapter 4 was approved by my mentor on January 22, 2011, on the first review.  Without Colleen’s guidance, I would probably have gone through one or two more quarters trying to complete Chapter 4.  I will be forever grateful for the assistance from Dr. Collen Halliday-Boykins. The Dissertation Coach would be a valuable asset to anyone working on a dissertation.

Share:Email this to someone

Steve Tolley, PhD

As I floundered in the dissertation process, the seemingly greatest insurmountable obstacle was full development of the qualitative methodology and research effort set forth in the dissertation proposal. Then, as part of my association with Dissertation Coach, I had the very good fortune to work with The Dissertation Coach team. From our first meeting on Skype, my consultant proved to be an invaluable coach, mentor, advisor, teacher, and supporter. She was truly committed to understanding the scope and intent of my research, helping me understand qualitative methodology to a much greater degree than my classroom exposure, and then in a coaching role gently guided my efforts to conduct and report on the heart of the dissertation my qualitative research effort. Every step of the way in formulating and conducting the research was only possible because of the clarity my consultant brought to the qualitative process. From development of the coding manual, through the analysis and discussion of the results, She provided timely and effective feedback that made me feel pride and resoluteness in my efforts. Without the coaching and encouragement of my consultant, I know that I would not have completed my dissertation. For her extremely important role in making this lifelong academic goal a reality for me, I am eternally grateful.

Share:Email this to someone

C.M. Doctoral Student in Education

I began working with Colleen after several failed attempts to get my committee to approve my proposal. Although I was told that I had a good topic for research, I could not express the significance, purpose and methodology in a coherent manner. I was at a breaking point in my dissertation where I was about to be removed from my program because it was taking so long to pass this first phase of approval. I had drafted my first two chapters of about 60 pages worth of content and could not progress any further. Then, I was blessed to have been connected with Colleen through the Dissertation Coach. After one full semester, with her invaluable guidance and review of my work, I am now ready to conduct my research. I’m past committee and IRB approval. For the first time since I began this process I now know I will obtain my PhD. It has been an arduous journey that I have traveled while managing an intense career, family and personal challenges. My only regret is that I didn’t reach out to the Dissertation Coach sooner. I am confident I could have completed my program long ago with the tremendous support provided to me by Colleen. I can simply not thank her enough.

Share:Email this to someone

Anonymous, Doctoral Student in Psychology

I am currently a student in a Psychology doctoral program in the final phases of my dissertation. I was stuck on the Data Analysis and Results section of my dissertation and was not receiving any help from my advisor. Kathy Stansbury, PhD worked with me on completing this section of my dissertation. She was absolutely amazing! She was very professional and really knows her stuff. She was patient with me and took her time explaining complex concepts, making even the most complicated seem effortless and easy to understand. On many occasions, after refusing to provide assistance, my advisor would say that I should know all of this stuff on my own. I felt incompetent and questioned my abilities and skills and even questioned whether I could see this through and graduate. Colleen not only helped me understand statistical analyses and concepts, but she also offered me support and encouragement when I really needed it. Her expertise and support made it possible for me to get through this section and move forward with my dissertation. Because of her help I will be graduating this December. As a native New Yorker who questions everything, I was skeptical at first and wary about using a service like the The Dissertation Coach. I wish I could tell every graduate student that it was absolutely the best decision I ever made and it is what made it possible for me to graduate. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!

Share:Email this to someone

Salah Shakir, doctoral student, North Central University

I started my doctorate program in 2006 and in early 2009 I started working on the concept paper. The concept paper took more than nine months and I had to register for the same course again due to many delays, revisions, and changes. I did not have much coaching from my previous chair or committee members. In early 2010 I had the privilege of working with Dr. Halliday-Boykins at The Dissertation Coach. In less than four months working with her, I am the process of finishing my dissertation proposal with the university which is a huge accomplishment. Dr. Halliday-Boykins has provided excellent assistance, directions and comments for revisions that were on target with my dissertation and with my chair and committee members. The Dissertation Coach company provides quality consultants who will save time and money and take out the anxiety of going through the process of writing a dissertation. I have learned great deal of skills and knowledge that I can use for future research.

Share:Email this to someone

James Harris, Jr., Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey

When I first began writing my proposal I was encountering many problems such as sentence structure; sentence flow; and the overall content of my proposal. There were many times when I was just going to give up on the dissertation. I remember being one computer “click” away from dropping out of the doctoral program. But I didn’t give up. I knew that I needed “expert” help in the completion of my dissertation so I searched the web for dissertation “experts” and came upon The Dissertation Coach and Alison matched me with an amazing consultant who was was  instrumental in helping me restructure my proposal. After many revisions based on my consultant’s feedback, my proposal was finally complete. Then I e-mailed my proposal to my mentor. After a few days, I received feedback from my mentor and in capital letters she wrote “WOW! this proposal is fantastic.” I know that I wouldn’t have gotten this far if it hadn’t been for The Dissertation Coach . Right now, I am beginning the data collection phase of my dissertation and look forward to continuing my relationship with The Dissertation Coach.

Share:Email this to someone
Share:Email this to someone