Self-Compassion for Graduate Students

One of the most challenging aspects of being a graduate student is the tendency to be self-critical and have judgmental thoughts about yourself. Many students use self-criticism to motivate themselves to be productive and get to work. But how well does self-criticism work? At The Dissertation Coach, we often say that if self-criticism was an effective way to increase motivation and productivity, our company would not exist. So, what is the alternative? It is self-compassion; a powerful expression of kindness and love directed to the self. It eases suffering and is an antidote to the pain of judgment and self-criticism we so often experience as human beings and certainly as graduate students. Self-compassion is a highly effective way to motivate yourself and increase productivity. Please join us for a meaningful (and free!) hour-long session to learn what self-compassion is, the difference it can make for you on the doctoral journey, and how you can practice self-compassion on a regular basis.

Wednesday February 14, 2018 at 9am PST / 11am CST / noon EST / 5pm GMT / 6pm CET

Please register to obtain call-in information. If you are unable to attend, please sign up and a link to a recording of the call will be sent to you within 24 hours of the event.

Share:Email this to someone